Wyld Woman Goes Bush

A radical life changing story of how a woman walks away from her 'norm' seeking ancient knowledge first from the Aboriginal Australians and then finding her path being steered towards Tibetan Buddhism.

My Encounter with a Medicine Man

During my travels to different parts of Australia I explored the Australian Aboriginal culture. The main reason for doing this is because I’m fascinated with Shamanism and spiritual development. You see, in the Bachelor Degree in Counselling and Psychology there was a course on Indigenous Australians and the prescribed book was Ancestral Power by Lynne Hume which describes the Dreamtime, techniques for entering altered states of consciousness and other spiritual practices.

Travelling in a Clever Way. The magicial ability of the specially trained person to transpose from one location to another has been alluded to in the example of the rai. After the rai has named the person ‘expert’, he is then able to rise up like a bird, into the air, as well as travel underneath the ground.

In central New South Wales, among the Wiradjuri magic stones (quartz crystals) are part of the making of the clever man. One Wiradjuri medicine man who had been initiated by his father when he was a young boy recounted how, when he was ten years old, his father took him into the bush  and showed him a piece of quartz crystal he held in his hand. While he was looking at it his father disappeared into the ground and came up covered in red dust. Then the father led him through a hole in the ground to a grave where the boy saw a dead man who gave him some crystals and rubbed him all over the make him clever.

Page 140 of Ancestral Power

Wow, right?

Then, before my journey around Australia a friend told me that I have to read the book Of Water and the Spirit: Ritual, Magic and Initiation in the Life of an African Shaman by Malidoma Patrice Some. Another inspiration to spur my imagination.

Hence, when I found a Medicine Man of the old ways I was honoured and humbled. I asked him once if I was allowed to tell my story of meeting him and of the healing he did. He said I could share the story but not to reveal his name or location.

The meeting of the Medicine Man was a once off …. as someone once told me much to my disbelief at first… that there are only 4 or 5 Aboriginal Australians left alive with the true ancient knowledge. Their children have no interest in learning this sacred culture and hence it will soon die out. I’ve now seen this to be true.

The stories in the book ANCESTRAL POWER are astonishing and one would wonder if these types of things are real. However, if you continue your research into the area of Indigenous Shamans around the world you’ll find similar stories. It’s ancient knowledge worldwide.

Are these JUST STORIES?

ARE THESE THINGS REAL?

I don’t know. But for me it’s like watching a good movie – I loooove science fiction and fantasy! My mind soaks it up like a sponge.

And, when your mind wants to believe sooooo strongly that something can happen – well, THOUGHTS CREATE YOUR REALITY.

Hence, when I wanted my thyroid to be normal again I saw a Chinese Herbalist, researched foods through Google and corrected my diet, changed my thoughts accordingly, took regular iodine drops (small doses according to how fast or slow my heart beat was going in balance with my energy levels) AND changed the CORE BELIEFS behind the thyroid dysfunction.

Could it just be coincidence that when I met a Medicine Man that my thyroid regulated?

Thyroids are fickle things. They change anyways. So, who knows! Right?

Please note, my thyroid levels are currently under the watchful eye of a mainstream Doctor.

Also, please note, this is just my personal experience – my personal story – and does not mean it would work for everyone.

The purpose of sharing this story is to inspire you to change your Personal Template – your MATRIX – and to take charge of your life with PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT and Self-Improvement Techniques…. and not just be the zombie of social constructs.

 

Leave a Reply

