Wyld Woman Goes Bush

A radical life changing personal development story of how a woman walks away from her 'norm' travelling the Australian outback, meeting with Australian Aboriginals, then venturing into Tibetan Buddism….. and then realising the ancient wisdom to expanding consciousness has always been within.

Delivering Second Hand Clothing to Communities

My friend Wiruungga delivers second hand clothing to remote Indigenous communities across Australia. He told me that clothing stores are far away from these remote communities, or that clothing is very expensive.

I’ve experienced this first hand now. The roads are VERY long between towns, and as you go further North the prices go higher. One shop in town had a pair of shorts priced at $89! The last time I’ve seen shorts that price are in the upmarket shops. Seeing this price in a small town with low employment opportunities just doesn’t make sense.

When I started this journey people from my local town donated second hand clothing. There was a huge range from men’s, women’s and children’s clothing. These clothes travelled for 20+ hours North.

There are a few Indigenous communities travelling North – Woorabinda, Yarrabah… but the clothes were delivered to Wujal Wujal.

At the local community centre these lovely woman were very grateful to receive clothing and went through them with their family and friends in mind.

I’ve received second hand clothing from my friends and each and every time get such a rush of joy to go through the bag of clothing. My current favourite ORANGE jumper comes from my dear friend Susan (I’d love to see Susan’s face as she reads her name on this blog!)

It was wonderful for me to observe them going through the clothing. To be truthful – I got such a rush of joy from it, and walked away with a deep feeling of satisfaction.

(**Note: Although these women gave permission for photos to be taken. I’ve chosen to display only this photo which does not show any faces.)

wujalThese communities really benefit from second hand clothing and my goal is to continue delivering them to different communities on behalf of the Wiruungga Organisation (not-for-profit, benevolent organisation).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
