Wyld Woman Goes Bush

A radical life changing personal development story of how a woman walks away from her 'norm' travelling the Australian outback, meeting with Australian Aboriginals, then venturing into Tibetan Buddism….. and then realising the ancient wisdom to expanding consciousness has always been within.

One of the Mob

With new t-shirts from Debbie’s business we were a strong unit that prepared and tended to the American tour groups at Mungalla Station. I felt like one of the mob that week as everyone was so friendly. I was the only “white” person on the land between tour groups, yet felt like I was family. It was such an awesome feeling!!

Mungalla station staff

After the hustle and bustle passed everyone returned to their homes and the Traditional Owners held a birthday party for Uncle Vaughn.

WOW!

Okay, so the best way I can describe it is if you’re familiar with an Italian family… and all the Uncles, Aunties, cousins and distant cousins… well, this is what I experienced here! A massive extended family gathering. In this instance, although people made me feel welcomed, I felt as though I stood out – NOT one of the mob. I had no connections, no ties to the land.

Then I realised that this was an important part of the Indigenous culture, “which land are you from”? “What tribe are you originally from?” … and then, “OH! You’re my distant cousin from 3 generations over!” … and the conversation goes on. It was quite fascinating.

And guess what I was thinking?

I wonder if I’ll “fit in” when I get a – what they call a – “skin name”. And how will I connect with a mob who would give me a skin name? What does having a skin name actually mean?

There’s two ways a non-Indigenous person can feel like one of the mob (probably more ways, but two that are quite distinctive). 1. Feel like part of a group when you’re helping out and 2. Actually being accepted by a tribe as a family member.

That last one is a big ask!

There’s still more to be discovered…..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
